Log in

Phil Collins Details 'Face Value,' 'Both Sides' Reissues

Phil Collins will kick off a run of remastered deluxe edition solo LPs in November with 'Face Value' and 'Both Sides' Phil Collins will kick off a run of remastered deluxe edition solo LPs in November with 'Face Value' and 'Both Sides'

Phil Collins will kick off his "Take a Look at Me Now" reissue campaign on November 6th with remastered deluxe versions of his 1981 solo debut, Face Value, and his fifth LP, 1993's Both Sides.

The track lists, personally curated and compiled by the singer-songwriter, feature original studio material contrasted with live and demo versions, intended to showcase the evolution of his songs over time.

"I've always been quite proud of my demos and have often made them available as B-sides, but with a few exceptions, I have avoided including those on these collections," Collins says in a statement. "Instead, I've focused on how nicely the songs developed when played onstage, rather than showing how they originated."

The reissue series will be spread over "the coming months," eventually spanning all of the former frontman-drummer's eight solo albums. Each set will be remastered by Nick Davis – who worked on the massive reissue campaign for Collins' former band, Genesis – and include new artwork featuring Collins recreating his poses from the original covers. 

The albums will be released in several formats: 2-CD and digital versions will include the remastered album with additional content, and 180-gram heavyweight audiophile vinyl (single LP for Face Value, double LP for Both Sides) will include the stand-alone remastered album. CD and vinyl boxed sets compiling both deluxe editions will also be available. 

The eclectic Face Value, which hit Number One in the U.K., spawned hits like the brooding "In the Air Tonight" and funky "I Missed Again," establishing Collins as a major commercial force apart from Genesis. Both Sides found the songwriter refining a soft-rock sound with singles like "Both Sides of the Story" and "Everyday."

Face Value: Deluxe Edition Track List

  1. "In The Air Tonight"
  2. "This Must Be Love"
  3. "Behind The Lines"
  4. "The Roof Is Leaking"
  5. "Droned"
  6. "Hand In Hand"
  7. "I Missed Again"
  8. "You Know What I Mean"
  9. "Thunder And Lightning"
  10. "I'm Not Moving"
  11. "If Leaving Me Is Easy
  12. "Tomorrow Never Knows" 

Bonus Tracks

  1. "Misunderstanding" - Live
  2. "If Leaving Me Is Easy" - Live
  3. "In The Air Tonight" - Live
  4. "Behind The Lines" - Live
  5. "The Roof Is Leaking" - Demo
  6. "Hand In Hand" - Live
  7. "I Missed Again" - Live
  8. "....And So To F" - Live
  9. "This Must Be Love" - Demo
  10. "Please Don't Ask" - Demo
  11. "Misunderstanding" - Demo
  12. "Against All Odds" - Demo

Both Sides: Deluxe Edition Track List

  1. "Both Sides Of The Story"
  2. "Can't Turn Back The Years"
  3. "Everyday"
  4. "I've Forgotten Everything"
  5. "We're Sons Of Our Fathers"
  6. "Can't Find My Way"
  7. "Survivors"
  8. "We Fly So Close"
  9. "There's A Place For Us"
  10. "We Wait And We Wonder"
  11. "Please Come Out Tonight"

Bonus Tracks

  1. "Take Me With You"
  2. "Both Sides Of The Story" - Live
  3. "Can't Turn Back The Years" - Live
  4. "Survivors" - Live
  5. "Everyday" - Live
  6. "We Wait And We Wonder" - Live
  7. "Can't Find My Way" - Demo
  8. "I've Been Trying"
  9. "Both Sides Of The Story"
  10. "Hero" - Demo  
© RollingStone, by Ryan Reed
Last modified onThursday, 24 September 2015 16:20


Phil Collins Details 'Face Value,' 'Both Sides' Reissues wochit Entertainment

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. Basic HTML code is allowed.


Log in or Sign up