Log in

Peter Gabriel announces vinyl reissue series

Peter Gabriel is to launch remastered, limited edition vinyl versions of his first four solo records – marking their return to the format for the first time since 2002.

It's the first in a series that will see all his records available in vinyl.

The eponymous albums – referred to as 1 to 4 or Car, Scratch, Melt and Security, based on their cover art – followed his departure from Genesis in 1975, and established him as a solo artist.

Gabriel says: "I really wanted the first record to be different from what I’d done with Genesis, so we were trying to do things in different styles. A bit of barbershop, which Tony Levin helped with. There were more bluesy things, a variety of songs and arrangements that were consciously trying to provide something different."

Each 180g double album is presented in gatefold sleeve in an individually-numbered run of 10,000 copies worldwide. Long out-of-print German vocal versions of Gabriel’s third and fourth albums will be limited to 3,000 copies each. Each pack will include a download cards with a choice of resolution: hi-res 24-bit/96k or 16-bit/44.1k.

They arrive on October 22 on Real World via Caroline International, and they're available for pre-order now.

Gabriel re-released his 2004 Play DVD in May and contributed a track to the newly-issues The Art Of Peace: Songs For Tibet II, a compilation marking the 80th birthday of the Dalai Lama. His most recent album is 2011’s New Blood, which presented orchestral re-recordings of various tracks from his solo career. He's currently working on new music.

Peter Gabriel 1 – CAR (1977)

A1: Moribund The Burgermeister
A2: Solsbury Hill
B1: Modern Love
B2: Excuse Me
B3: Humdrum
C1: Slowburn
C2: Waiting For The Big One
D1: Down The Dolce Vita
D2: Here Comes The Flood

Peter Gabriel 2 – Scratch (1978)

A1: On The Air
A2: D.I.Y.
A3: Mother of Violence
B1: A Wonderful Day In A One-Way World
B2: White Shadow
C1: Indigo
C2: Animal Magic
C3: Exposure
D1: Flotsam and Jetsam
D2: Perspective
D3: Home Sweet Home

Peter Gabriel 3 - Melt (1980)

A1: Intruder
A2: No Self Control
B1: Start
B2: I Don’t Remember
B3: Family Snapshot
B4: And Through The Wire
C1: Games Without Frontiers
C2: Not One Of Us
D1: Lead A Normal Life
D2: Biko

Peter Gabriel 4 – Security (1982)

A1: The Rhythm Of The Heat
A2: San Jacinto
B1: I Have The Touch
B2: The Family and The Fishing Net
C1: Shock The Monkey
C2: Lay Your Hands On Me
D1: Wallflower
D2: Kiss Of Life

© Classic Rock, by Bruce Henne

Last modified onTuesday, 28 July 2015 19:01


Peter Gabriel Half-Speed Vinyl Remasters from Real World on Vimeo.

Matt Colton from Alchemy Mastering discusses the new vinyl re-issues of Peter Gabriel’s first four self-titled solo albums.

The albums, including the two German versions of Peter Gabriel 3 and 4, have been Half Speed Remastered and cut to lacquers at 45RPM. The albums, released on 2 October 2015, will be pressed on Double Vinyl (180g) and come with sleeve imagery sourced and re-scanned from the original artwork.

More details at www.petergabriel.com/vinyl

Peter Gabriel Half-Speed Vinyl Remasters Real World

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. Basic HTML code is allowed.


Log in or Sign up