Log in

Mike and the Mechanics - The Singles: 1986-2013

Mike & The Mechanics celebrate 25 years since the release of their biggest hit with their first definitive, cross label collection of their biggest hits released through Universal on 21st October.
Formed in 1985 by Genesis founder Mike Rutherford, Mike & The Mechanics had a series of hit songs including Silent Running (On Dangerous Ground), All I Need Is A Miracle, Word Of Mouth and Over My Shoulder. However, it was with The Living Years, that the band went on to have the biggest hit of their career.

Now, 25 years on, the track takes pride of place on the collection of hits, B-Sides and rarities along with a new track When My Feet Don’t Touch The Ground and a previously unheard track One By One.

Mike said: "I am proud of the writing and recording of so many of the songs and of all the musicians involved along with the producers/ engineers and technical staff. Especially to Paul Carrack and Paul Young two of the finest voices. And now to Andrew Roachford and Tim Howar who are carrying on the Mechanics sound with me. That sound is the combination of everyone involved and the fact that people can recognise it is one of our best achievements."

Mike & The Mechanics has always been a collective and this most recent incarnation of the band features founder Mike Rutherford alongside vocalists Tim Howar and Andrew Roachford.

New track on the album When My Feet Don’t Touch The Ground was written by Rutherford and Roachford. The album also features a previously unrelased track, One By One featuring former vocalists Paul Carrack and Paul Young alongside a stack of other rarities.

From February 12th, Mike is please to confirm his long held ambition to celebrate the 25th anniversary of "The Living Years" with an extensive tour of the UK with the current band comprising of Andrew Roachford, Tim Howar, Anthony Drennan, Luke Juby and Gary Wallis.


1. Silent Running (On Dangerous Ground)
2. All I Need Is A Miracle
3. The Living Years
4. Word Of Mouth
5. Over My Shoulder
6. A Beggar On A Beach Of Gold
7. Another Cup Of Coffee
8. Now That You’ve Gone
9. Taken In
10. Nobody’s Perfect
11. Everybody Gets A Second Chance
12. Nobody Knows
13. Seeing Is Believing
14. A Time And Place
15. Whenever I Stop
16. Perfect Child
17. Reach Out (Touch The Sun)
18. Try To Save Me

1. When My Feet Don’t Touch The Ground ***New track***
2. One By One Previously unreleased featuring Paul Young & Paul Carrack
3. Nobody Told Me
4. I Think I’ve Got The Message
5. Too Many Friends
6. You Never Change
7. Always The Last To Know
8. You Don’t Know What Love Is
9. Boys At The Front
10. My Crime Of Passion (Acoustic Version)
11. Little Boy
12. Help Me
13. Revolution
14. I Get The Feeling (Live)
15. Taken In (Live)
16. Word Of Mouth (East West Mix)
17. Too Far Gone

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. Basic HTML code is allowed.


Log in or Sign up