Log in

Genesis To Release Second Box Set, '1983-1998, The Power Trio Years'

Article Index

Top 10 album in a row thanks to the hit singles "Mama," "That's All" and "Taking It All Too Hard." The DVD's extras feature four videos made for the album, nearly an hour of rehearsals for 1983's Mama Tour including fan favorites-- "Eleventh Earl of Mar," "Squonk," and "Carpet Crawlers"-- along with songs from Genesis.


Following Collins' hit debut as a solo artist, Genesis returned with its biggest-selling album to date, Invisible Touch (1986). Peaking at #3 in America, the album contained five Top 5 singles: "Land Of Confusion," "Tonight, Tonight, Tonight," "Throwing It All Away," "In Too Deep," and the title track, which remains the band's only #1 hit in America. The DVD extras feature five videos including one for "Land Of Confusion." Nominated for Video of the Year at MTV's Video Music Awards, the video uses puppet caricatures of the band, politicians and other personalities to comment on the nuclear arms race. The DVD also contains a tour documentary featuring snippets of the band playing "Supper's Ready" and "Turn It On Again," to name a few; a behind-the-scenes look at the making of the video for "Land of Confusion"; and Genesis performing in 1986 on the British music program, Old Grey Whistle Test.

Taking a much-deserved five-year break, Genesis returned to the charts with We Can't Dance (1991) scoring hits with "I Can't Dance," "No Son Of Mine" "Jesus He Knows Me," "Never A Time" and "Hold On My Heart." To date, this remains the last Genesis album featuring Collins, who left in 1996. The DVD extras contain: five videos featuring the singles; and a television special featuring a behind-the-scenes look at the writing of the album including the songs "Driving The Last Spike," "Jesus He Knows Me," "I Can't Dance" and "Fading Lights."

Following Collins' departure, Banks and Rutherford returned to their progressive roots accompanied by new vocalist, Ray Wilson, for Calling All Stations (1997), which yielded the hit single "Congo." The DVD extras include a trio of videos, the album's electronic press kit, as well as live performances recorded in Germany and Poland.

Genesis concludes with Extra Tracks 1983-1998, a disc of rarities offered exclusively as part of this box set. The compilation features eight songs including "On The Shoreline" and "Do The Neurotic." In addition, the collection contains a trove of videos including the electronic press kit for the popular Archive 2 1976 to 1992 release; a 40-minute Knebworth performance recorded in 1983 featuring a dozen songs; plus a performance recorded in 2000 during a tribute to Genesis' long-time manager, Tony Smith, featuring acoustic version of the band's hits "Invisible Touch," "Follow You, Follow Me," "I Can't Dance," and "Turn It On Again."



Log in or Sign up