Log in

Class Of 2010 Inducted Into Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame

GenesisBritish rockers Genesis, The Stooges and ABBA have been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as the class of 2010.

The ceremony at New York's Waldorf Astoria Hotel on Monday night (March 15 2010) opened with Phish paying tribute to Genesis by performing their rendition of Watcher of the Skies, before frontman Trey Anastasio stepped forward to share his experiences about the band's influence on his own music career.

Introducing "the quiet rebels of Genesis" to the stage, Anastasio handed over the microphone to Phil Collins, Anthony Phillips, Mike Rutherford and Steve Hackett - but former singer Peter Gabriel was a notable absentee from the line-up.

Phillips told the crowd, "Peter's not with us tonight, but he wanted me to say his apologies, he has a very legitimate reason, he's going on tour. He's rehearsing with an orchestra today, tomorrow and the next day, so he really couldn't make it but he sends his love. Thank you."

Genesis frontman Collins used his acceptance speech to remember late music mogul Ahmet Ertegun, who passed away in December 2006.

He said, "This is fantastic. There are a lot of people that without them, apart from the fans of course, we wouldn't be here. The wonderful Ahmet Ertegun, he really was our grandad and showed us the way. This is a big moment for us... Thank you very much."

Green Day's Billie Joe Armstrong helped to induct punk band The Stooges, bringing Iggy Pop, Scott Asheton and James Williamson to the stage.

Pop paid tribute to late members Ron Asheton and Dave Alexander as he thanked the organisers of the Hall of Fame for finally recognising their contributions to the industry.

He said, "We didn't win a lot starting out... We three are the surviving Stooges. Ron and Dave would've gotten a good kick out of this and Ron was p**sed off it didn't happen while he was alive... Thank you."

Other inductees on the night included The Hollies, reggae icon Jimmy Cliff and music executive David Geffen, who received the Ahmet Ertegun Award, alongside songwriters Jeff Barry, Otis Blackwell, Ellie Greenwich, Barry Mann, Mort Shuman, Jesse Stone and Cynthia Weil.

© Contactmusic

Log in or Sign up